Atheist Scruples: Skinny dipping edition

The only post I’ll get around to doing today, so I’m making it a fun one.

At a small party, the guests are all removing their clothes for a skinny dip in the pool. Do you join them?

I’m not sure. How well do I know these people? Is my husband at the party? Am I surrounded by incredibly sexy looking people who work out and look really fit and perky? I think I’d feel really self conscious and pass on the nekkid swim party. But I wouldn’t interfere in the ambitions of others. Maybe I’d even look..

Oh, this just reminded me. I’ve been listening to the podcast for Stuff You Missed in History Class and just finished up with the two part story for Edna St. Vincent Millay. Her house called Steepletop had a pool and her writing cabin was situated near it. Apparently she had the cabin’s windows measured out in such a way that the pool would be visible, but if she didn’t want to join her naked friends and lovers at the pool, she could still see what they were doing even if she stayed inside and wrote.

I’m also reminded of this classic piece of musical history.

This singer has a sly dog look to him, but is better looking than Justin Bieber. And he might sing better, too. His hair is better…

At 2:22, this kid does not look enthusiastic about her body on display in this bikini, though. I don’t blame her. She’s really young and that bikini appears to be ill fitting and doesn’t look overly comfortable.

If you noticed Dick Clark’s growl at the beginning and then the age of the kid.. you’re not the only one. From the comments below it:

bradinca 1 year ago

Perhaps Dick Clark was expecting an older bikini clad girl – he was probably cringing that he missed rehearsal.

Via Wikipedia:

At a time when bikini bathing suits were still seen as too risqué to be mainstream, the song prompted a sudden take off in bikini sales and is credited as being one of the earliest contributors to the acceptance of the suit in society. The early 1960s saw a slew of surf movies and other film and television productions that rapidly built on the song’s momentum.

Good times.

2 Responses to Atheist Scruples: Skinny dipping edition

  1. N. E. White says:

    That…thing she is wearing is terrible! Who dressed her? They should have been shot.

    In regards to the question, no I would not join them. I’m comfortable being naked around my husband only, not friends or strangers. It’s fine if they want to go naked, but I will not be joining them.

  2. 1minionsopinion says:

    Out near Pike Lake, not far from Saskatoon, there used to be a place on the river affectionately called Bare Ass Beach. I don’t know if it’s still used or not. I haven’t heard mention of it for some years.

