Robin Williams, I hardly knew you

His death was news everywhere yesterday. He’d had trouble with depression and substance abuse and last month had decided to go back to a treatment program. Something happened between that hopeful decision and yesterday when he took his own life. From CBC:

“This morning, I lost my husband and my best friend, while the world lost one of its most beloved artists and beautiful human beings. I am utterly heartbroken,” said Williams’ wife, Susan Schneider. “On behalf of Robin’s family, we are asking for privacy during our time of profound grief. As he is remembered, it is our hope the focus will not be on Robin’s death, but on the countless moments of joy and laughter he gave to millions.”

Can do.

I have dim recollections of Mork and Mindy but that’s where I first saw him.

I had a Mork from Ork toy, complete with his egg-shaped spaceship. I played with them even after I lost half the egg and Mork lost an arm. Years later, I found the exact same toy still in its packaging for a very cheap price and bought it. It’s in a box still at my folks’ place. I don’t bring this up intending to sell it for $1000s now that he’s gone. It’s just something I happen to own.

I wouldn’t put him in a top ten list of favourite actors but I did see many of his movies over the years. I don’t think I saw him in anything since he put out Insomnia in 2002 (the original Norwegian film was better) but in terms of earlier work, sure.

Mrs. Doubtfire was always good for a laugh. Awakenings was very interesting (if you liked that film, look into Oliver Sacks and the book by the same name which is where the film got its “based on a true story” tagline). Patch Adams seemed like an ideal role for him and his antics. Hook was a bit of a dud (not his fault) but Fern Gully, Jumanji, Aladdin — he was certainly the voice of my childhood in many ways. I really liked those three.

Not sure what else to say. He’s the latest in a long line of famous people who’ve left the world before the world of fans and family was ready for it. I always hope when I see the aged in films that they’ll live long enough to make the sequel(s). It doesn’t occur to me to worry about the younger ones who make up the rest of the cast. Who’s struggling on the inside? Who’s hurting? Who’s getting help? Who’s feeling helpless and at a crossroad? Who’s going to go home today and call quits on everything?

Taking it back to the fans, friends and family, I’m sorry for your loss.

One Response to Robin Williams, I hardly knew you

