Swedish church used IKEA bags for bone storage

Erotic novelist Kicki Karlén found the stash unexpectedly, although this article is scant on details for why she was wandering around the basement and how she found them. Book research, presumably.

The Kläckeberga church is using Ikea bags to store the remains of around 80 people who were once buried under the floorboards.

The bones had been removed from the floor during renovations to make the place more wheelchair accessible. The bags had been left out but covered by a tarpaulin and thus out of view.

“I was on the team called in to dig out the bones five years ago,” archaeologist Ludvig Papmehl-Dufay told The Local.

“Our mission was to document and rebury the bones, which may be as much as 500 years old. But the reburial was delayed and I have no idea why. The plan was to rebury them as soon as possible, but that’s up to the church. The county board said they couldn’t leave church ground, and it became complicated.”

He claims he’s not the one who put them in the bags; that’s not standard archeological practice. He admits that’s better than nothing covering them, though.

Bones weird me out. I’d never be able to set foot in Prague’s bone-decorated Ossuary. I get uncomfortable just looking at the pictures. I have a hard time in graveyards thinking about what’s under my feet, and doubt I’d ever want to set foot in a crypt either. I would not think to describe one of those as a “subterranean wonderland”. Thanks, I’ll pass.

About 1minionsopinion

Canadian Atheist Basically ordinary Library employee Avid book lover Ditto for movies Wanna-be writer Procrastinator
This entry was posted in In the Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.