Sounds of Sunday – Axis of Awesome

I’d come across these guys before but forgot about them until I listened to a recent Ted Radio Hour episode called What is Original? Between segments played a song called “4 Chords” illustrating how completely unoriginal a lot of pop music really is. But many of the songs featured in this video are big favourites of mine. Now I see why. They all sound like each other.

It’s not the greatest quality video but at least it supplies the song titles for those who need them.

I’m not as big a music nerd as the Man. As a musician himself, he has an ear for samples and will often comment when he hears a riff or a thing or a that other thing and say, “Oh, So-and-So used that bit on That Track…” and I have to say, “Oh yeah? That’s cool..” because I’m totally missing all those cues.

I’d noticed a few pop songs ripping off Pachelbel’s Canon (very extensive list here) and have often started singing one song and wound up part way into another similar song without realizing because their styles are so interchangeable. I admire these guys, though. I can’t imagine how much work went into finding all of those and then practicing to perform pieces of them all. I can imagine that they may have gotten really sick of performing it…

2 Responses to Sounds of Sunday – Axis of Awesome

  1. gameback.it says:

    I do not comment, but I browsed a bunch of responses on this page Sounds of Sunday – Axis of Awesome | One Minion’s Opinion. I do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it only me or does it appear like a few of
    the remarks appear like they are coming from brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other sites,
    I’d like to keep up with you. Would you make a list of the
    complete urls of your social community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  2. 1minionsopinion says:

    I’m not big on the networking. I just write for kicks and don’t often comment elsewhere or read elsewhere. If I ever get that organized, though, I’ll spruce the place up with more links and the like.

