A sighting in the clouds is always Jesus if it’s not a UFO

Or God. God’s also popular, as are sightings of the Virgin Mary — when you go by what some news sites choose to publish, that is. This time around, the Daily Mail reports on seeing Jesus.

An eerie figure appears to stand on a cloud high in the mountains, arms outstretched, bearing an uncanny resemblance to Jesus. To complete the picture, the figure is crowned with a perfect halo of light.

Amateur photographer Luc Perrot was stunned when he saw the apparition 2,000ft up on top of the volcanic Cirque of Mafate peak, on the island of Réunion in the Indian Ocean.

Said Perrot about this,

‘It took me by complete surprise. When I looked back at the footage, it gave me the feeling of divine apparition.

‘When I saw the footage I realised the figure was surmounted by a white arc, which reminded me very much of a halo.

‘You read about this phenomenon in books but I have never seen it before myself.’

Yes, it’s called pareidolia and every God and Jesus sighting ever reported has been the result of humans attributing meaning to random patterns. At least Perrot keeps his head and doesn’t automatically assume it’s a sign that he must now start preaching on mountain tops and demanding money from followers.

‘It can probably be explained scientifically. There are lots of different climatic phenomena like the Brocken spectre and fogbows, but it does look amazing and is unique.’

Well done, M. Perrot.

Comments are closed.

