So, I’ve started weight lifting..

And by start, I mean I bought a pair of five pound weights and have already discovered just how feeble my arm muscles are. Is there a level below beginner? That’s where I am. A decade of doing little more than stare at a screen has a little more to do with it than anything else, that’s for certain. It’s going to be a challenge to work them up to something less embarrassing, but worth it.

Long walks and better eating habits in the past year have helped me drop 46 pounds, though, and I’m pleased about that. I can stand to lose another 50. This time around I feel a lot more motivated to keep the weight off, too.

I have friends who are into running, but I’d need to be chased by zombies before I’d run very far. Other friends are mad about cycling but I’ve tossed enough cash at new things lately so I don’t think I’ll be adding a bike to my pile of crap anytime soon. I have roller blades, a yoga mat and a row machine so it’s not like I don’t have enough toys to play with as it is. Just have to feel like using them.

And when I get to whatever look it is I’m aiming for, you know I won’t be thanking God for the miracle. I remember when I was still working at Wal-mart a shopper had come in to try clothes on and was raving about her weight loss and how much God helped her do it. In my mind I was thinking, “So, the 40 pounds fell off your body overnight? Now that’d be a miracle.” Why are some people so reluctant to take credit for their own good work? Why do things like that have to be attributed to some supernatural cause? Is there still some sense in some minds that it’s sinful to take pride in something you’ve accomplished? There’s a difference between stating a fact and bragging about ability where ability doesn’t exist. If the ability exists, why not admit it? That’s how a real sense of self-worth is built, isn’t it? How can you feel good about yourself if you’re reluctant to give yourself credit where and when it’s due?

But anyway, enough about that. It’s time to make my arms beg for mercy again.

About 1minionsopinion

Canadian Atheist Basically ordinary Library employee Avid book lover Ditto for movies Wanna-be writer Procrastinator
This entry was posted in random biz and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So, I’ve started weight lifting..

  1. tmso says:

    Good luck! You can do it. 😀

Comments are closed.