It’s drafty in here – a couple old ideas resurface

While I wasn’t in the mood to blog I was still reading articles and saving them with the intention of writing something on the topic at some point. I’d come across this one about vines on a power pole and people’s reactions to its iconic resemblance to You Know Who (and I don’t mean Voldemort).

Kent Hardison, who runs Ma’s Hotdog House less than a half mile from the pareidolia, rides by the Christ-resembling post each day. He said when he first saw the kudzu growing he almost sprayed it with herbicide.

“I glanced at it, and it looks like Jesus,” Hardison said. “I thought, ‘You can’t spray Jesus with Roundup.’ ”

It always amuses me when people say they think they’ve seen an image of Jesus. Aside from how artists have chosen to depict the man (on a cross or otherwise), we’ve got nothing from his day painted from life. Nothing. It’s pointless to point to something occurring by chance and say it must be Jesus-inspired. It’s always merely the result of someone’s imagination. And humans rarely have too little of that.

In South Carolina more recently comes a story of a couple claiming Jesus appeared on their Walmart receipt. The resulting stains on the paper do tend to make a face-like pattern but why does Jesus have to be the go-to guy every time this sort of thing gets noticed? I think it looks more like an artist’s interpretation of a neanderthal, myself.

The other thing I ran across is from 2009 and a minister in Tennessee who got it in his head to build an enormous treehouse. Why?

Burgess says he started working on this giant treehouse after he had a vision back in 1993. God spoke to him and said: “If you build me a treehouse, I’ll see you never run out of material.” And so he spent the next 14 years building God’s treehouse, using only salvaged materials, like pieces of lumber from garages, storage sheds and barns. So, as far as Horace is concerned, God did provide him with all the materials he needed.

It’s quite impressive, actually. At the time the article was written it was popular with tourists. Judging by recent comments on site, it still is.

Comments are closed.

