Now I need to figure out what to write about…

Elevatorgate was interesting. I didn’t add comments anywhere except on friends’ facebook pages about it. As one with a long and depressing history of being ignored by the opposite sex, it was interesting to read about women getting fed up with male attention and the shit-storm that resulted.

Maybe it’s because I don’t fit the cultural standard of beauty, or maybe I give off some anti-social vibe, but nobody hits on me in elevators – or anywhere else – at any time of day or night. I have no idea what it’s like to be admired by random strangers who’ll actually be bold enough to admit it, whatever the consequences. It’s nothing I feel comfortable doing to someone else, hence my singleness, I guess. I’m not much of a risk taker and risk of rejection is nothing I feel like gambling on right now. It’s too easy to “win” that when I play and the reward doesn’t seem worth the emotional price right now.

Something more on an actual topic will be posted tomorrow.

About 1minionsopinion

Canadian Atheist Basically ordinary Library employee Avid book lover Ditto for movies Wanna-be writer Procrastinator
This entry was posted in random biz and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now I need to figure out what to write about…

  1. tmso says:

    Yeah, this is an odd one. I’m not sure how to react. I mean, why didn’t she just brush him off, tell him he was creeping her out and leave it at that? It seemed blown out of proportion. But then again, I never read the original post.

    (I don’t get hit on either, except by lesbians. I’m a lesbian magnet. Bummer I’m not a lesbian. 😦 )

  2. 1minionsopinion says:

    We talked a bit about that at our pub night tonight and I guess they had a good chat about it on Sunday at the usual Freethinkers meeting which I missed while I was out of town. One of the guys tonight made mention of the fact that Rebecca probably should have avoided generalizing. It was one thing to say one guy creeped her out at 4am, but to make it sound like every guy should think twice about approaching every woman no matter what the moment, or whatever..

    Still, I see why it became a touchy subject. Or perhaps more like a no-touchy! subject…

Comments are closed.