It’s the perfect sign if Jesus runs for the Green Party

It’s not much of an article, sadly, but in Florissant, Missouri, Michael Mayfield was recently asked to take down his yard sign advertising Jesus. He had no idea anyone was bothered by it until he opened his mailbox one day and found a letter from the Weatherby Place subdivision committee requesting its removal.

He says as a Christian, he proudly placed the familiar green-and-white sign in his yard as a declaration of his faith.

“And they told me I had to remove it,” Mayfield tells KMOX News. “I mean it just shocked me to no end to even read a letter like this. It spelled out ‘Jesus’, and that really captured my attention that they would go as far as to spell out the name ‘Jesus’.”

Mayfield says his sign isn’t going anywhere; in fact, he’s still deciding whether to put up more Jesus signs in his front yard.

No response yet from the subdivision’s operators, D & I Properties.

My question winds up being, are they targeting “Jesus” or tacky yard signs in general? Would similar letters get sent to anyone who dared decorate their front yard with flamingos and garden gnomes? Are they picking on him because of his beliefs or is it all about keeping the area looking neat and classy? I’d bet a cookie it’s the latter. It’s hard to tell by the image how big the sign is, but I’m guessing by the trunk of the tree behind it that it’s not a very large thing. I’m thinking this must be one of those kooky neighbourhoods that demands dog houses be the same designs and colours as people houses and bans the use of clotheslines because they make the place look cheap and lived-in.

Beats me why people get their knickers in a knot over that kind of thing. I can see worrying about loose needles from drug addicts, or lawns so overgrown that they attract unwanted wildlife, or trash heaped high enough to block the sun, but a sign? Really? This is a big deal? I just don’t see it.

4 Responses to It’s the perfect sign if Jesus runs for the Green Party

  1. Veronica says:

    On the highway to Omemee, Ontario there is a house with “Jesus is Alive” written on its roof. The writing on the roof of the adjacent house says “So is Elvis.”

  2. 1minionsopinion says:

    That’s hilarious! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Gina Bullard says:

    where can I buy a Jesus sign? I am going to put it up and nobody will make me take it down! I hope more and more christians will stand up to these anti-Jesus people and buy more and more signs!

    THank you and so glad you refuse to take it down! good for you!

    GIna Bullard

  4. 1minionsopinion says:

    It’s not my sign. I just found the article. If I had a yard, I’d rather advertise the Flying Spaghetti Monster (bless his noodly appendages, ramen!)

