Why does anyone care what Anne Rice believes?

Who gives a shit? Really. Who does?

So many people have been writing about her claim that she’s dropping Christianity but remaining spiritual and Christ loving, and all I feel like writing is, big whoop.

Christianity Today has an interview with her.

It’s been a few weeks since you made an announcement on Facebook. How have you felt since your decision?

I feel good and relieved about my decision, and I’ve felt a new spirit of energy creatively for my writing. I was so conflicted and disillusioned about organized religion that I couldn’t write.

Do you think your decision will explicitly affect your writing?

I think my writings will go on being the writings of a believer in Christ. I think I’ll be less frustrated and freer to write about the full dimension of what that means.

Which means more “metaphysical thrillers” to be devoured by whatever societal group constitutes her fan base. That’s not me.

Maybe I’m an odd bird (don’t answer that) but it usually doesn’t occur to me to check what kind of people are behind the books I read and love.

Exceptions: I know Stephenie Meyer threw a hell of a lot of Mormonism into her series. Philip Pullman might not call himself an atheist but he’s no fan of organized religion in politics. Terry Pratchett might still be an atheist, even though he once felt like he had a moment of unexpected peace others might consider to be a divine pat on the head.

Most of the time I read a book because it looks interesting. If I enjoy it, I may look for more by that author. I may read everything by that author eventually, or I’ll quit long before that happens. By and large I really don’t feel like paying particular attention to an author’s lifestyle or beliefs. I’m of the opinion that the work needs to stand on its own.

I don’t read books because Oprah approves of the writer, or because the publishing house has agreed to let Patterson “write” six books a year and pay him accordingly. The book must stand on its own. The story has to intrigue me. It has to pull me in and it has to keep my interest to the end. Who wrote it winds up being a less than secondary concern of mine. Same goes for non-fiction. I grab books based on topic. If it’s written well and engages me, I’ll keep at it. I may even like it enough to write about it later. I don’t do any research into who wrote it to find out what kind of person he or she is, though. Sad to say, but a lot of times I don’t care who wrote it and won’t remember the name later anyway. The ideas presented matter more than the name of the person who published them.

Am I alone in thinking this way?

About 1minionsopinion

Canadian Atheist Basically ordinary Library employee Avid book lover Ditto for movies Wanna-be writer Procrastinator
This entry was posted in books, religiosity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why does anyone care what Anne Rice believes?

  1. tmso says:

    Maybe. I’m with you that I don’t go out of my way to find out about the authors of a book I like, but if I happen to hear about something (like they are mormon or hate gay people) then I will shy away from their There is plenty of good reading out there that I can pick and choose. But you know, it is not a hard and fast rule for me either.

  2. 1minionsopinion says:

    If the writing stands on its own and the story is engaging, or the topic is fascinating, I can read it without caring much. If it’s filled with obvious religious leaning or thinly-veiled hate speech then yeah, I’ll skip it. Better things to do.

    Oh, a cleverly titled book wound up at the library today from some “art of living” series or some such called Science, but it wasn’t really science – it was how to make science fit protestant belief systems – Protscience. I only wish I was making that word up.

  3. tmso says:

    Shudder. I’m sure it is not the last time you will see that. Hide it under the rug, quick.

Comments are closed.