Sounds of Sunday – Sibylle Baier

October 26, 2014

This album has gotten a lot of listens lately. Really lovely.


Friday Night Frights (One Minion bathes in Baron Blood!)

October 24, 2014

1minionsopinion:

Still in writing break mode. Have another silly movie post from years ago. I’m lazy…

Originally posted on One Minion's Opinion:

stega 1

“I don’t know what to think of this project Minion’s taken on. Is she in need mental aid?” the Stegosaurus wondered. “After last week’s crazy Aussie innkeeper killers, I think I’d rather be deaf than listen to more ham acting. No offense.”

“None could possibly be taken,” Cow replied, feeling pained. “Ham comes from pigs.”

cow 1

Minion always came home from work with several DVDs and Cow was tired of hearing Stegosaurus grumble about the quality of them. She didn’t like Minion’s taste in entertainment either, but it did no good to complain. And besides, what could they do about it anyway? They were squeaky toys Minion picked up at a Dollar store for goodness’ sake.

“So, what is it this time?” asked Stegasaurus.

“Why do you even ask me?” Cow replied, testily. “You know I can’t read.”

“Yeah, yeah, sorry,” Stegosaurus said without a hint of sincerity. “You know…

View original 1,067 more words


Friday Night Frights (One Minion and the return of Frankenstein)

October 21, 2014

1minionsopinion:

Lacking time: here’s another fun one from ages ago. The movies I sat through to provide readers with entertainment…

Originally posted on One Minion's Opinion:

The intrepid explorers stood there, unsure what to do next.

“Durrrrrr!” the thing mumbled.

Floyd’s tail twitched nervously. “Did you hear that?”

“Of course I did!” Lloyd blinked his eyes, hardly able to believe what he was seeing. “How can a bodiless head do that?”

The little Frog Scouts bounced on Floyd’s back and Lloyd marveled over how keen and excited they seemed. This was surely worth the long trek to the top of the futon, a hike none of them were keen or excited to start.

“I wonder what it’s doing up here,” said Floyd.

Lloyd remained silent, watching the thing. The thing’s eyes stared into the distance. What was it thinking? Was it capable of thinking of anything?*

View original 532 more words


Friday Night Frights (One Minion learns love doesn’t grow where Rosemary goes)

October 20, 2014

1minionsopinion:

For the run-up to Halloween, I bring back some old favourite posts I did with a horror movie theme. Enjoy.

Originally posted on One Minion's Opinion:

“Why have you conjured me into existence, Mistress Minion?”
“Because I can! I found the secret book hidden away, thought lost for all time! Now I have the power over those bigger and stronger than myself! Mauahaahaah!!!! Now, I command you to attack and devour my enemies! Leave not even their bones unbitten!”
“But I’m a vegetarian.”

View original 565 more words


Sounds of Sunday – Bahamas Pajamas

October 19, 2014

I never knew of this guy, but the Man’s younger sister has Joe Scruggs on VHS and I’ve seen it a few times since we started going to his folks’ for visits. There are also a lot of Barney vids still at the house, too, but the Man and I agree – this is so much better…


Another priest, another porn charge

October 17, 2014

This time in Canada:

ICE forensic analysts are currently in the process of analyzing a number of computer and mobile devices that were seized.

“Dozens” of hand-drawn images, which under the Criminal Code are classified as child pornography, have been seized.

Investigators say the man gave the pictures to another person but at this point they don’t believe he distributed them over the internet.

“I have seen some of the images in this case and I can say that it’s not just children posed naked, but that it does depict sexual assaults of children,” said Lokken.

“Anytime anybody has certain influence or a position within the community, it puts them in a position where they could have contact with young persons, and that’s concerning to us,” added Lokken.

His name’s all the way at the bottom:

Richard John Docekal, 58, is charged with possession and distribution of child pornography.

I’ll have to watch for updates on this one.


Friday Funny – Paris art installation raising eyebrows

October 17, 2014

Christmas tree, sex toy.. You decide…

This inflatable “Christmas tree” erected in Paris is making passers-by feel a little uncomfortable.

The 80ft-high object is raising eyebrows because of its uncanny resemblance to a sex toy, but is actually an installation by American artist Paul McCarthy.

Simply called “Tree”, it is towering over the Place Vendome as part of a contemporary art fair.

McCarthy, who is no stranger to controversy, designed the piece specifically for the “Fiac” festival but it has not been taken well by some critics.

I wonder why… but not much.

Update Saturday Oct 18, 2014: vandals have let the air out of the bag.

This morning Parisians awoke to find Paul McCarthy’s controversial sculpture “Tree” looking like a discarded giant prophylactic after it was deflated by vandals at the Place Vendôme, Paris, during the night.

Since its installation the art work has divided opinion with many Parisians outraged by the 80 foot sculpture’s similarity to an… er… adult novelty item. Well, it now turns out that “Tree” was indeed inspired by that very item as artist McCarthy told Le Monde newspaper that “It all started as a joke.”

“…I realised it resembled a Christmas tree, but it is an abstract work. People can be offended if they want to think of it as a plug, but for me it is more of an abstraction.”

The “abstraction” was lost on some Parisians with one irate passerby slapping the 69-year-old artist in the face and shouting:

“You’re not French and this has no place in the square.”

McCarthy was allegedly dazed but unhurt by the assault and asked:

“Does this sort of thing happen often in Paris?”


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers