Friday Night Frights (One Minion learns love doesn’t grow where Rosemary goes)

October 20, 2014

1minionsopinion:

For the run-up to Halloween, I bring back some old favourite posts I did with a horror movie theme. Enjoy.

Originally posted on One Minion's Opinion:

“Why have you conjured me into existence, Mistress Minion?”
“Because I can! I found the secret book hidden away, thought lost for all time! Now I have the power over those bigger and stronger than myself! Mauahaahaah!!!! Now, I command you to attack and devour my enemies! Leave not even their bones unbitten!”
“But I’m a vegetarian.”

View original 565 more words


Sounds of Sunday – Bahamas Pajamas

October 19, 2014

I never knew of this guy, but the Man’s younger sister has Joe Scruggs on VHS and I’ve seen it a few times since we started going to his folks’ for visits. There are also a lot of Barney vids still at the house, too, but the Man and I agree – this is so much better…


Another priest, another porn charge

October 17, 2014

This time in Canada:

ICE forensic analysts are currently in the process of analyzing a number of computer and mobile devices that were seized.

“Dozens” of hand-drawn images, which under the Criminal Code are classified as child pornography, have been seized.

Investigators say the man gave the pictures to another person but at this point they don’t believe he distributed them over the internet.

“I have seen some of the images in this case and I can say that it’s not just children posed naked, but that it does depict sexual assaults of children,” said Lokken.

“Anytime anybody has certain influence or a position within the community, it puts them in a position where they could have contact with young persons, and that’s concerning to us,” added Lokken.

His name’s all the way at the bottom:

Richard John Docekal, 58, is charged with possession and distribution of child pornography.

I’ll have to watch for updates on this one.


Friday Funny – Paris art installation raising eyebrows

October 17, 2014

Christmas tree, sex toy.. You decide…

This inflatable “Christmas tree” erected in Paris is making passers-by feel a little uncomfortable.

The 80ft-high object is raising eyebrows because of its uncanny resemblance to a sex toy, but is actually an installation by American artist Paul McCarthy.

Simply called “Tree”, it is towering over the Place Vendome as part of a contemporary art fair.

McCarthy, who is no stranger to controversy, designed the piece specifically for the “Fiac” festival but it has not been taken well by some critics.

I wonder why… but not much.

Update Saturday Oct 18, 2014: vandals have let the air out of the bag.

This morning Parisians awoke to find Paul McCarthy’s controversial sculpture “Tree” looking like a discarded giant prophylactic after it was deflated by vandals at the Place Vendôme, Paris, during the night.

Since its installation the art work has divided opinion with many Parisians outraged by the 80 foot sculpture’s similarity to an… er… adult novelty item. Well, it now turns out that “Tree” was indeed inspired by that very item as artist McCarthy told Le Monde newspaper that “It all started as a joke.”

“…I realised it resembled a Christmas tree, but it is an abstract work. People can be offended if they want to think of it as a plug, but for me it is more of an abstraction.”

The “abstraction” was lost on some Parisians with one irate passerby slapping the 69-year-old artist in the face and shouting:

“You’re not French and this has no place in the square.”

McCarthy was allegedly dazed but unhurt by the assault and asked:

“Does this sort of thing happen often in Paris?”


All Hallows Read sounds like a fun idea

October 16, 2014

Give someone a scary book for Halloween is how this is being plugged. From the FAQ page:

All Hallow’s Read is a Hallowe’en tradition. It’s simply that in the week of Hallowe’en, or on the night itself, you give someone a scary book.

Scholars have traced its origins as far back as this blog post.

Is this instead of Trick or Treat? Because I don’t want to get egged, and the kids around here are mean.

Not at all. Trick or Treat is Trick or Treat. This is All Hallow’s Read, a great excuse to give someone a book.

You can give out scary books or comics to trick or treaters on Hallowe’en if you want to, obviously. (We recommend looking the child in the eye and saying, “Take it. Read it. Trust me… around here… a book can be… safer than candy.” Then chuckling to yourself, as if remembering something unfortunate that happened to some of the local children only last year.)

I had a book as a kid called the Three Investigators and the Mystery of the Green Ghost. The cover itself spooked me so terribly that I not only stored the book in my closet, but stored it face down.

Eventually I read the story itself and discovered it was pretty good. I think I read most of the series in my youth.

I might have to check out a used bookstore in the area and see if I can find a few bucks worth of spooky tales to offer to kids who come by. Maybe they’ll wind up fearing the cover of one of them like I did…


Atheist Scruples: Police! Police!

October 15, 2014

Today’s question:

Arriving home late, you see a flashlight in your house and call police. They take an hour to arrive and the thieves escape with your valuables. Do you complain to the civic authorities?

In the heat of the moment, I’d probably be totally pissed and want to, yeah, but I can’t imagine it would make much difference in terms of me getting my stuff back.

One thing to do would be to remain outside the house, let them do whatever print work they want to try in terms finding a match in case there are other houses that have been hit by the same person/group.

Preemptively, it’s worthwhile to have a stored record of serials numbers and photos of the stuff you own, stored somewhere online (or in a safety deposit box if you’re behind the times) so you can provide police with proof of ownership in case any of your stuff gets found again, and also in terms of putting together reports for insurance purposes. The Surrey RCMP offer up this advice and suggest engraving of marking your stuff with something like your driver’s license number or something else specific to your life.

Surrey RCMP’s exhibits area recorded over 1,800 cases of found property. As an example, over 20% of those cases involved recovered bicycles and less than half of those were returned to the original owners because there was no way to track them down. More recently, twelve bikes were brought into exhibits in one day and none had been reported stolen.

“We’ve recovered family heirlooms, diamond rings, unique artwork, you name it,” says Surrey RCMP Cpl. Bert Paquet. “Our officers and support staff work very hard to try and reunite owners with their property, however it can be very difficult when there’s little to no documentation, or when people don’t report stolen property.”

“There is also a common misconception that it’s not worth it to report something stolen,” says Cpl. Paquet. “Nothing could be further from the truth. Reporting crime matters. When you report a theft, you are making us aware of stolen property and of crime that is happening in your community.”

Slightly related, I remember my days at Walmart dealing with folks who came in with their lists of stolen items they were trying to get replacements for. It wasn’t always possible to find the exact video game or piece of equipment they’d lost, unfortunately, but I’d do what I could and I always felt kind of bad for them.

Knocking on proverbial wood now because I’ve been very fortunate…


Billy Graham (or his people) can’t live and let live

October 14, 2014

DEAR BILLY GRAHAM: My niece is trapped in a really bad relationship (not married, but living together). It has no future, but she refuses to see this. We’ve tried to tell her to get out of the relationship, but she just gets mad. How can we help her? — K.W.

Define “bad” first. Oh wait, KW does: not married, therefore no future. Well, that’s just stupid.

Laws vary between states and provinces in terms of what constitutes a common-law relationship but once you’ve met those requirements, it’s as good as being married in the eyes of the law for your state or province and, quite frankly, that’s all that matters. The need to add God into the mix with a religious service is a personal choice, although families that fuel themselves with faith would say otherwise.

The Man and I went with a marriage commissioner service at a gallery in town. It was quick and lovely. I’d said since that maybe we could have remained common-law instead of spending the money on one day but then he kind of wondered if I’d still think that in five years or be annoyed that we hadn’t gotten properly married by that point. There is, of course, no way to answer that unless you buy into theories of multiple universes where such a life may have been lived. The year the Man and I spent apart, I can honestly admit it gave me some comfort to think that there could have been a version of the universe where it worked out better for both of us as a couple .. and then this universe came in line with that slight pipe dream and voila! Married! Never saw it coming..

DEAR K.W.: When someone steadfastly refuses to listen to wise advice, there may be little we can do, humanly speaking, to help them. They may simply be stubborn, too proud to admit they’re wrong, or they may sincerely think they’re right and we’re wrong. Whatever the reason, they refuse to heed our warnings.

Here’s the thing to think about. This is a niece, not a son or daughter. Even if it were a relationship the son or daughter was having, it still really isn’t the business of the parent to disapprove and bitch about it and try to break it up. Adults have to make their own choices in life and this ultimately means that they are going to have to make their own mistakes, too. Assuming this relationship is really a “mistake”. Without details about the guy for why he’s a bad pick, we just have this writer’s opinion on the matter.

What can you do? First, let your niece know you love her and care about her, even if she doesn’t accept your advice. If your analysis of her situation is correct, eventually this relationship will end, perhaps painfully, and she’ll need your friendship. You might offer to take her out to lunch and listen to her side of the story, not arguing but gently expressing your concern and letting her know you care. The Bible reminds us that there is “a time to be silent and a time to speak” (Ecclesiastes 3:7).

And it seems like KW would like to skip directly to “speak” and act like he or she knows the right answer without having any access to the actual test being taken by this niece. Maybe the guy is really awesome but struggling to find a decent job or has family issues that stress him out. Nothing is said that he’s an abuser or a drug addict or a criminal. He’s just not married to her. Big deal — not.

Then pray for her. God can do what we can’t do, and he can change even the most stubborn heart. Pray, too, that your niece will not only come to see the wrongness of what she has done but will also face her need for God’s forgiveness and guidance. Pray, too, for wisdom as you interact with her.

Bah.

If he’s monogamous, leave them alone.

If he’s not monogamous but they’re in a mutual agreement to enjoy multiple partners of various genders, leave them alone.

If she’s happy with the way her life is right now, in whatever form it’s taking, leave her the fuck alone.

Not.

Your.

Damn.

Business.

Finally, don’t give up on her. Even if your niece rebuffs you right now, your life is an example of how she should be living. She needs Christ, and God can use you to point her to his forgiveness and love.

If it’s 1950, maybe. Or 1850. Or 1550. Everybody is different. Every situation is different. You disapproval doesn’t add up to squat. Your life is your life, hers is hers. If she isn’t living your life, maybe it’s because she has chosen not to. Perhaps on purpose and with joy in her heart. I’m so glad I’m not K…

If there’s a legitimate beef about the guy, though, as in true, factual, photographic evidence of abuse, then you owe it to your niece to encourage her to seek help and keep at it, even if she’s trying to shut you out. Help her find the help she needs from the medical community, mental health experts, and support groups. Don’t leave her thinking there’s no hope, no escape, and no future that doesn’t include him. Then is the time to use your happy marriage as a model and show her what she’s missing in terms of a healthy relationship. Help her start the very long process to fix things for herself.

(This all would assume she’s ready and wants to. If she’s not, then maybe prayer winds up being your only alternative…)

Thoughts?


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers